The “Right” Way

Have you ever heard the expression “doing things the right way.”  I have heard this many times, and I usually associate this phrase to someone referring to a football recruit doing the right things.  He studies hard, doesn’t take short cuts, plays clean in athletics, etc.

For some reason I have been chewing on this phrase all of yesterday.  I workout in the mornings a couple times a week and yesterday’s workout was rather slack for me.  My trainer wasn’t there, I would have rather hung out in a bagel shop with my workout partners than actually workout, and I definitely didn’t feel like working out.

So what did I do?  I coasted a quarter speed through my exercises (it was cardio).  However, I would look over to one of my workout partners and notice they were going for it.  Needless to say, I was impressed because I certainly didn’t want to do it.  At the end of the workout I had to leave in order to make it to work on time (but in all honestly I would have left at that point regardless).

While I was walking out I realized that he wasn’t leaving and in fact he was doing even more cardio (this was after the workout was over!!!)

I walked away thinking about this persons character and at each stage across the board in his life he has a history of doing things “the right way.”

It got me thinking, a person who does things “the right way” will exemplify this no matter what they are doing.  And a person who does not do things the right way, likely will not.

If I am taking short cuts without even thinking twice in my workouts, I wonder what else I am taking short cuts in.  It might be a good question to ask yourself.  “Am I taking short cuts in any areas in life?”

  • Am I taking short cuts in my marriage? (Love your wife as Christ loved the church – Eph 5:25)
  • Am I taking short cuts at my job? (Work as working for the Lord and not for men – Col 3:23)
  • Am I taking short cuts in health? Fast Food/Laziness (Your body is a temple of God – 1 Cor 6 ; Offer bodies as living sacrifices – Romans 12)
  • Am I taking short cuts in the finances God has given me? (Know your financial condition – Proverbs 27:23)

These are good questions (and many others to ask yourself).  I know using the phrase doing things “the right way” is kind of moralistic and can even be left with an open interpretation.  So, replace “the right” with “God’s” way…now you have a phrase to live by.  Am I doing things God’s way?

This entry was posted in Fresh Bread, Heart. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment